Webinar broadcast date: Tuesday, 23 February 2021

07h00 New York | 12h00 GMT | 12h00 London | 13h00 Amsterdam | 14h00 Johannesburg | 17h30 New Delhi | 20h00 Singapore | 23h00 Melbourne

Financing to mitigate or adapt to looming climate issues is receiving more attention but still lags behind traditional thermal generation and commonplace operational considerations. 

While an increasing number of governments are starting to consider a more sustainable energy transition as central to future climate strategies, this philosophy raises queries around finding the balance between embracing clean energy and exploiting least-cost resources.

In this live webinar, ESI Africa, Enlit Africa and guest speakers will unpack the concern around the role of traditional generation in the energy transition where Africa’s more immediate problem is that of modernisation and expansion.

Discussion points:

  • Is the concept of clean coal technologies possible or an oxymoron?
  • Is a move to exploiting more gas resources a step in the right direction?
  • Do the global pandemic and associated drop in oil revenue represent a chance to refocus direct private investment away from coal; and
  • Where do human resources fit into the energy transition?

Moderator: Nicolette Pombo-van Zyl, Editor, ESI Africa

Speakers

  • Gaylor Montmasson-Clair, Senior Economist, Trade & Industrial Policy Strategies (TIPS), South Africa
  • Dr Tony Surridge, Technical Advisor, Geoscience Council, South Africa